Headteachers past and present come together for special celebration at Lawrence Sheriff School - The Rugby Observer

Headteachers past and present come together for special celebration at Lawrence Sheriff School

Rugby Editorial 5th May, 2022 Updated: 6th May, 2022   0

FOUR Headteachers of Lawrence Sheriff School (LSS) came together at the Clifton Road site for what is believed to be the first time in its long history to mark a special celebration.

Ex-Headmasters Geoff Martindale, Dr Rex Pogson and Dr Peter Kent joined current Headteacher Teresa Mpofu to mark the opening of a new Science Block, the dedication of a Tribute Garden, and the naming of a library.

The Science Block was officially opened by Dr Kent, Headmaster from 1999-2021, following the completion of a major building project.

The new building was funded by over £6million from the Department for Education as part of the Selective Schools Expansion Fund – which has enabled the school to increase its Year 7 intake to 150 pupils each year.

Dr Kent, who is now President of the International Confederation of Principals, said: “Lawrence Sheriff has been a centre of excellence for the teaching of science over many years. Hence it seems entirely appropriate that through the opening of our new science block we are marking the next stage in the development of the school.

“I am delighted that the additional capacity provided by the new building has allowed us to achieve our long-term goal of allowing more students in Rugby and the surrounding area to join the Lawrence Sheriff community. It is wonderful to see the way in which the school continues to go from strength to strength.”

Alongside the celebration of the building project’s completion, the school’s governors wanted to recognise staff who have contributed to the school’s culture throughout its history.

Geoff Martindale and Dr Rex Pogson, Headmasters from 1980-1985 and 1985-1998 respectively, were invited to dedicate the Tribute Garden and name The Pogson Library.

During the dedication of the garden, which forms a living tribute to all those who have shaped the school’s culture, some of the key individuals in the school’s history from both the staff and the governing body were named – including Gareth Redd, Roley Davis, Geoff Moore, John Essam, John Duffy and Colin Parker.

Mrs Mpofu said: “An event such as this highlights why being part of the LSS community is always exciting. We are able to celebrate the rich history of the school whilst always looking forward. This way we never stop striving to improve all that we do and secure the very best education for our students.”

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Rugby Observer.


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.