Your candidates for Thursday's local elections - The Rugby Observer

Your candidates for Thursday's local elections

Rugby Editorial 28th Apr, 2019   0

RUGBEIANS will go to the polls on Thursday (May 2) to elect councillors to Rugby Borough Council.

Candidates will contest 14 of the council’s 42 seats – a third of the total.

The Conservative group currently controls the council with 23 councillors. The Labour group and the Liberal Democrat group each have nine councillors. There is one independent councillor.

Candidates are as follows.


Admirals and Cawston Ward

Lee Martin Chase (Liberal Democrats)

Sharron Joanne Goldingay (Labour)

Michael Thomas Stokes (Conservative)


Benn Ward

Rachel Elizabeth Lowe (Conservative)

Tom Mahoney (Labour)

Enid Niven (UKIP)

Rebecca Sarah Stevenson (Green Party)

Hugh Trimble (Liberal Democrats)


Bilton Ward

Lesley Mary George (Liberal Democrats)

Phil Hemsley (Labour)

Lisa Anne Parker (Conservative)


Coton and Boughton Ward

Peter Thomas Bramble (UKIP)

Mark William Gore (Labour)

Seb Lowe (Conservative)

James Robert Moran (Liberal Democrats)

Maralyn Janet Pickup (Green Party)


Dunsmore Ward

Louise Bennett (Liberal Democrats)

Peter William Eccleson (Conservative)

Peter Mclaverty (Labour)


Eastlands Ward

Roy Victor Harvey (UKIP)

Ben Law (Labour)

Neil James Sandison (Liberal Democrats)

Patrick K Steel (Green Party)

Carolyn Watson-Merret (Conservative)


Hillmorton Ward

Julie Eleanor Douglas (Liberal Democrats)

Sarah Yvonne Elizabeth Feeney (Labour)

Kathryn Margaret Lawrence (Conservative)

Peter Reynolds (Green Party)


Leam Valley Ward

Emma Joanne Crane (Conservative)

Bob Hughes (Labour)


New Bilton Ward

David Barker (UKIP)

Robert Owen Beggs (Green Party)

Barbara Anne Brown (Labour)

Eve Hassell (Conservative)

Keith Ward (Liberal Democrats)


Newbold and Brownsover Ward

Jim Ellis (Labour)

Mark Andrew Summers (Green Party)

Hossain Tafazzal (Liberal Democrats)

Richard Martyn Tomlin (Conservative)


Paddox Ward

Adam Michael Daly (Conservative)

Jerry Roodhouse (Liberal Democrats)

Roy Leonard Sandison (Green Party)

Jonathan Richard Vickers (Labour)


Revel and Binley Woods Ward

Richard Oliver Harrington (Labour)

Heather Mary Timms (Conservative)


Rokeby and Overslade Ward

Beck Hemsley (Labour)

Christopher Johnson (Conservative)

Nick Long (Liberal Democrats)


Wolston and The Lawfords Ward

Graham William Bliss (Labour)

Derek Poole (Conservative)

Lesley Karen Summers (Green Party)


Of 16 Parish Council elections this year, only Wolfhampcote Parish Council‘s will be contested. The following seven candidates will contest five seats.

Andrew David Brown

Jim Conning

Roberta Karen Jervis

Laura Helen King

April Knapp

John Malcolm Lee

Diana Weaver

Candidates in the 15 other parishes will stand uncontested.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.


Advertise with the Rugby Observer to reach your audience

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Rugby Observer.