CRICKET - Willoughby hold annual awards presentation evening - The Rugby Observer

CRICKET - Willoughby hold annual awards presentation evening

Rugby Editorial 23rd Nov, 2022   0

WILLOUGHBY Cricket Club looked back on a encouraging 2022 season at their annual awards presentation evening staged at Willoughby Village Hall.

The club’s two Saturday teams achieved promotion as runners-up from their respective divisions with the first XI promoted to Division Six and the second XI promoted to Division 12.

And the second XI were also runners-up in the end of season divisional KO Cup.

There was also success for Willoughby’s midweek 20-over teams who both achieved promotion as the first XI topped Division Two to move into the top flight whilst the second XI move into Division Two.

The club’s awards for the 2022 season were presented as follows:


Under 11s Coach’s award: Macaulay John

Under 13s Coach’s award: Sam Taylor

Under 15s Coach’s award: Lenny Wallis

Junior Single Wicket: Ambrose Deery


1st XI Batting: Callum Hanks

1st XI Bowling: Stuart Bonthuys

1st XI Captain’s Player: Hassan Nawaz

2nd XI Batting: Aiden Porter

2nd XI Bowling: Fergus Deery

2nd XI Captain’s Player: Sean Thornton

Debut Centurions: Martyn Norman, Matt Cartridge, Anshul Satsangi

Wednesday 1st XI Captain’s player: Stuart Bonthuys

Wednesday 2nd XI Captain’s player: Sam Woods

Sunday XI Captain’s player: Ryan Lines

Taverner’s Awards

Junior Cricketer of the Year: Ambrose Deery

Senior Cricketer of the Year: Callum Hanks

Drake of the Year (most ducks): Ryan Lines

Club person of the Year: Fergus Deery

Fielder of the Year: Scott Cluley

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Rugby Observer newspaper.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Rugby Observer.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.