In-form Craig McKee wins Rugby time trial - The Rugby Observer

In-form Craig McKee wins Rugby time trial

Rugby Editorial 23rd Jul, 2016 Updated: 27th Oct, 2016   0

IN-FORM Craig McKee claimed his 15th victory of the season at Rugby Racing Cycling Club’s final 25-mile time trial of the season.

Conditions were hot for the 30 competitors on the K10/25B course in Princethorpe and this allowed 13 to record sub one-hour times.

McKee led the pack again in a time of 52 minutes and 14 seconds, while Ryan Kenworthy (53.46) finished as runner-upp and David Newton finished third in a time of 54.45.

The most unlucky rider of the night was Richard Stirling who clocked just one second over the hour mark to finish 13th overall.

Results: Craig McKee 52.14, Ryan Kenworthy 53.46, David Newton 54.45, Lewis Jones 54.55, Jonathan Cottingham 57.00, Peter Wright 57.28, Mark Wise 57.38, Eliot Blundell 57.59, Russell Green 58.57, David Gillett 59.06, Barrie Mitchell 59.13, Ben Atkinson 59.51, Richard Stirling 1:00.01, Ben Robson 1:01.03, Seb Palmer 1:01.34, Peter Timmins 1:02.03, Luke Pugh 1:02.31, Darren Grieves 1:03.11, Brian Haycock 1:03.31, Simon Brand 1:04.47, Paul Thurman 1:05.14, Angus Gordon 1:05.23, Howard Beale 1.06.22, Caroline Read 1:06.22, Andy Dean 1:07.47, Tony Johnson 1:08.57, Eric Burke 1:11.41, Mark Smith 1:13.30.

Club Handicap: Tony Johnson 51.27, Seb Palmer 51.49, Angus Gordon 51.53.

Private Entries: Simon Law (Kettering CC) 57.6, Tom Payne 1:01.43.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Rugby Observer.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.