Third place for Rugby in Milton Keynes - The Rugby Observer

Third place for Rugby in Milton Keynes

Rugby Editorial 9th Jul, 2015 Updated: 27th Oct, 2016   0

NEW East Midlands Grand Prix champions Rugby & Northampton Athletic Club (R&N) rounded off their successful series with a third-place finish in the final event at the Milton Keynes 10km.

Leading home the club for the first time was Stephen Marks in 13th place with a time of 35:20, and Daniel Mould, who headed the club for the whole series, recorded 35.59 to finish 18th on the night and seventh in the series.

The first veteran over the line for the club was M45 Iain Botheroyd, who placed fourth in the age group and 24th overall (36.35).

And completing the team on the night was Jonathan Burke in 36th position on 37.35, which helped him to 12th spot for the series.

Mike Andrews’ third spot in the M40 category (38.24) was enough to seal him the overall title in that age group and the veteran team from R&N were also third on the night, but clinched runners-up spot in the Grand Prix.

Closing out the team were Vince Carroll (M45 – ninth – 39:25 ) and Pete Thomas (M50 – eighth – 43:12) while Maree Jesson was the only lady for the club taking part, and she finished 14th in 42:05, to take fifth in the F40 race.

Although not running at Milton Keynes, notable overall series placings were achieved by Valerie Cross (F65 – second), Alan Mould (M55 – third) and John Gercs (M45 – third).

Elsewhere, this coming weekend sees the prestigious English Schools Athletic Championship take place at Gateshead Stadium – the largest event of its kind in the world.

R&N athletes will be there in abundance, with 18 selected to represent Northamptonshire schools and five for Warwickshire schools across the under-15, 17 and 20 age groups.

Joe Musgrove, Adam Searle, Oliver Lambert, Sam Tutt and James Ball make up the U15 boys.

Tom Cheyne, Jay O’Leary, Patrick Price and Aidan Leeson will compete at under-17 level, while Rico Ewer, Zach Stapleton, Caleb Downes and Adam Wright will be taking on the under-20s.

For the girls, Rhania Akii-Bua is the sole U15 competitor, with Megan Exley and Molly Barnett going in the U20 age group. The under-17s are well represented with Lily Carmichael, Eleanor Broome, Milan Clues, Kiona McLennon, Evie Harris-Jenkins, Lucy Cousins and Brittany Wood all taking part in the event.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Rugby Observer.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.